2018 BFGoodrich CAMS Australian Off Road Championship
St George - May 4-6    |    Finke - June 8-11    |    Rainbow - August 10-12                  

2018 ARB Australian Off Road Racing Championship
Griffith - March 16-18     |     Mildura - April 20-22     |     Sea Lake - June 08-10     |     Waikerie - July 13-15     |     Goondiwindi - Aug 17-19     |     Millicent - Sept 21-23

Moyston Podium... Visser, Davis, Smith
Wednesday, 13 September 2017
After some wild weather in the weeks leading up to the Samba Metal Works Mallee Shield Short Course held at Moyston near Ararat, race day dawned without a cloud in the sky.

A small field of 12 teams started the event, with six of those being ProLites. The field was split into two groups, with each group scheduled to do thee heats each of seven laps. Heat one saw the ProLites battling it out with Cam McClelland #154 showing some good speed, only slightly off the pace of Eric Schlifeiner #155 who was fastest in the heat, while Rod Visser #157 was looming ready to pounce.

Glenn Wilkinson #124, after being late to arrive after some unforeseen trouble, was trying to make up time and had a light roll over just before the creek culvert.

The second group went out hard with Mark Smith #466 putting in some good times. Tim Harris #440 was out early with brake problems and Lachlan Mountjoy #555 broke a front hub, losing a wheel. Tim Walker #371 had the wick wound up putting in some great times.

After lunch with Cam McClelland #154, Tim Harris #440, Lachlan Mountjoy #555 and Michael Saggers #374 all out of the event, it was decided to run the field together for the last two heats.

The next heat saw Eric Schlifeiner #155 showing a clean set of heals and Rod Visser #157 always not far behind. Dave Davis #161 started to get into the rhythm and Glen Wilkinson #124 was going hard.

Mark and Suzie Smith #466 looked to be having a ball in the Smith Tech Baja and Tim Walker #371 was going really well in the Sportsman buggy.

For the last heat race leader Eric Schlifeiner #155 had to pull out because of an oil leak. This created a battle between Rod Visser #157 and Dave Davis #161 with Davis beating Visser by just 4 seconds in the heat.

Mark Smith #466 had gearbox issues and only had third gear for this heat and did a great job putting in his best heat time of the event. Glenn Wilkinson #124 kept punching and finished up 12 seconds behind Smith in the heat.

Tim Walker #371 did a great job as did Darren Ingham #152, silently circulating all day. Craig Button #469 also kept running all day without a hitch.

Outright victory went to Rod Visser #157 from Dave Davis #161 and then Mark and Suzie Smith #466 rounding out the podium.

The Geelong Off Road Buggy Association club would once again like to thank the landowner Murray Wood for the use of his property; the canteen volunteers and the recovery guys and gals who do such a great job; the fire brigade and first aiders; and the club members who give up their time to make sure that the racers can have a great weekend. All of these people, who unselfishly give up their time to work hard for the sport, thank you. Also thanks to all the competitors for entering.

Source: Colin McLaren
Photographer: Corey Aldridge