2019 BFGoodrich CAMS Australian Off Road Championship
St George - April 5-7    |    Finke - June 7-10    |    Rainbow - August 9-11

2019 ARB Australian Off Road Racing Championship
Mildura - April 26-28     |     Sea Lake - June 7-9     |     Griffith - July 5-7     |     Goondiwindi - Aug 16-18     |     Millicent - Sept 20-22

Hanson Wins Mellool
Sunday, 08 April 2018
Clear skies and dust greeted 24 starters at the 2018 Mellool Short Course, round 2 of the Victorian Off Road Club Shield. The event was organised by the Sea Lake Off Road Club on the Monk family property, Danbury Park, in NSW.

Matt Hanson and Nigel Pendlebury #7 claimed outright victory, keeping #30 Glenn Owen and son Jack Owen at bay in the dust, just one minute 26 seconds behind.

The local crew of Cameron McClelland and Kane Louttit #154 secured third outright and first in combined Class 1/10 and fought off a hard charging Daryl Nissen and Andrew Harness #164 with #1072 Andrew Glover next in the combined class and fifth outright. #1007 David Davis was 7th outright.

In their first event, local father and son team Chris and Zac Martin #661 led their class all day to finish an impressive 6th outright. Second in the class were Luke Shadbolt and Allen Henson #684 who lost time on the last lap replacing a drive belt.

Ken and Jeremy Holt #258 were the only finishers in Class 2 & 3, a creditable 8th outright. Paul Walsh and Ash Mayes #216 suffered a flat tyre in section 2 and restarted section 3 but were towed in after another two laps. Mathew and Jamie Sagers completed 5 laps in the #374 buggy.

Craig Button and son Adam #469 won the combined Class 4 & 5 and were 9th outright. Gary Teunissen and Lachlan Mountjoy #555 were second, completing 8 laps. Darren and Tenae Mott #435 got five laps in for the day before the driveline let them down.

#1016 Phil Kilworth rounded out the top ten and #51 Joe and Shane Carabott were next in 11th outright and third in the Unlimited class.

Jason Forssman and Del Palmer #774 were the ‘lone rangers’ in Class 7 and would have been glad to have a couple of dust free laps at the end of the day, after being swamped by the buggies, but they got their 10 laps in and picked up a well deserved trophy.

Several crews withdrew at the half time break between sections 2 and 3. Nathan and Damian Monk #26 had a damaged rear brake caliper. Mathew and Jamie Sagers #374 had suspension damage. Brendan Payne and Lynda Miller #99 had a badly leaking transaxle.

Fourteen of the 24 starters finished the event. The 25th entry of Matthew Coombe #268 was unable to take the start line. Chris and Daniel Monk #450 retired after the first lap with a noisy driveline.

Special mention to the Monk family and Swan Hill volunteers including the local fire brigade who all put in to make the event a safe and successful one.

Results can be found here