2019 BFGoodrich CAMS Australian Off Road Championship
St George - April 5-7    |    Finke - June 7-10    |    Rainbow - August 9-11

2019 ARB Australian Off Road Racing Championship
Mildura - April 26-28     |     Sea Lake - June 7-9     |     Griffith - July 5-7     |     Goondiwindi - Aug 16-18     |     Millicent - Sept 20-22

Australia Awaits Actioned Packed Long Weekend
Wednesday, 06 June 2018
Source: Toby Cooper for offroadracing.com.au

Over 230 race teams across Australia are finalising preparations in anticipation for another huge Queens Birthday long weekend of off road racing. The iconic Tatts Finke Desert Race, Round 2 of the 2018 BFGoodrich CAMS Australian Off Road Championship will get underway for prologue on Saturday morning, as 135 car crews set to do battle with the famous red dust and whoops. Whilst in the Victorian mallee township of Sea Lake, 91 crews will meet the green light for the annual Haeusler’s Sea Lake Mallee Rally ARB 400, which runs as Round 3 of the 2018 ARB Australian Off Road Racing Championship.

Multiple ‘King of the Desert’ titlists and defending Champions Shannon and Ian Rentsch #33 will once again spearhead the field at the Tatts Finke Desert Race. The eight time Australian Off Road Champions are eager to continue their winning ways, after claiming Round 1 of the championship at St. George in early May. Current championship front-runner Toby Whately #621 arrives in Alice Springs with no pressure after becoming the first SXS Turbo machine to claim an outright section win at Round 1; a finish at the brutal event high on their agenda.

In a field filled with past Finke champions including Mark Burrows #21, David Fellows #492, Hayden Bentley #418 and Greg Gartner #410, throw in last year’s runner up Beau Robinson #413, 2016 Australian Champion Jack Rhodes #91 and Toby Price #487, one thing for sure it is going to be a very entertaining 452 kms of inspired racing.

Other notables to keep an eye out for include current Australian Off Road Champion Matt Martin #1 who is looking for a quick bounce back after a mechanical failure ended their opening round, Matt Hanson #7 eager to defeat his Finke demons, the North Queenslanders Talbot Cox #16 and Michael Marson #32 know what it takes to perform in the desert, whilst Ryan Taylor #24, Raana Horan #89, Chris Browning #131, Billy Geddes #441 are amongst the chances.

All classes are well represented for Round 2 of the AORC, especially in the SXS categories, with 44 Turbo charged entries including Whateley, Greg Campbell #601 and Phil Lovett #697 as well as 18 of the naturally aspirated machines. The first leg from Alice to Finke gets underway Sunday morning with the return leg commencing first thing Monday – Finke 2018 will not disappoint.

Sea Lake is set to be a wide open affair in 2018, with the three podium finishers from last year unable to attend the 2018 event. The Mallee township will once again come to life over the long weekend as over 91 teams converge for the third Round of the 2018 ARB Australian Off Road Racing Championship. Long time campaigners Andrew Brown #45 and Craig Martin #25 have returned to the pointy end of the standings on numerous occasions over the past 5 years and this weekend is the perfect opportunity for an overdue victory. They will not have it all their own way as they will have to overcome the likes of Craig’s sons Dale #101 and Brent #120 who are two of the most consistent peddlers in the country.

Brad Chasemore #10 returns to the scene of his 2016 victory as to does multiple Mallee Rally Champion Glenn Owen #30 who will head into the weekend as one of the hot outright favourites.

Others to keep an eye on include last year’s Pines Enduro winner Tyler Owen #41, Western Australian Troy Schoen #19, local peddler Cameron McClelland #154, young gun Tanner James #1093 and Clayton Chapman #815 who will lurk as an outright contender if all falls his way.

There is so much to look forward to in a monster long weekend of off – road racing across Australia, as the next chapters of the iconic Finke Desert Race and Sea Lake Mallee Rally will be written!